Osinbajo heads 10-member Committee on herdsmen/farmers conflicts

No Rating

The National Economic Council (NEC) presided over by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo on Thursday approved a 10-member working committee on the herdsmen/farmers conflicts in the country.

The Vice President is to chair the committee made up of other nine governors.

Vice President Yemi Osinbajo delivers ‘Africa Rising’ Lecture at Harvard Business School.

This was one of the high points of the resolutions of NEC announced by Govs. Dave Umahi of Ebonyi and Abdullahi Ganduje of Kano on Thursday in Abuja.

According to Ganduje, the committee began its meeting and consultations immediately.

“On the farmers/herdsmen crises, Council constituted a working group to collaborate with the Federal Government in addressing the issues of impunity regarding the killings and violence.

“The Committee, composed of nine governors under the chairmanship of the Vice President, would work in accordance with the President’s commitment to ensure that all perpetrators of violence are brought to book.

“The working group comprises of governors of Zamfara, Kaduna, Adamawa, Benue, Taraba, Edo, Plateau, Ebonyi and Oyo States.

“The committee has started its meeting right after today’s National Economic Council.’’

The post Osinbajo heads 10-member Committee on herdsmen/farmers conflicts appeared first on Vanguard News.


0 thoughts on “Osinbajo heads 10-member Committee on herdsmen/farmers conflicts”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *